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THE CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

The first year of a new two-year session of the California Legislature is well underway. February
17" marked the last day for the introduction of bills in 2023. This report covers bills that have been
introduced on the subjects of juvenile justice, youth crime prevention, probation foster care and
related matters. This is our first California legislative report for 2023. As before, we will be
tracking and reporting on bills, including amendments and committee status, as they progress
through the legislative season which runs until September 14" this year.

Many of the bills you will see in this report are “spot” bills that lack substantive content. They
have been introduced as “bare bones” placeholders to meet the bill introduction deadline. We will
update these bills as content is added by legislative authors, and we will update all bills on the
tracking list as they are amended and assigned to legislative committees. As is often the case
early the legislative year, we discover additional bills that having juvenile justice content that have
been overlooked or have been amended to become bills of interest, and we will add those to our
tracking reports as they become known.

Bill status reports in this edition are current through 2/28/23. The full text of bills can be found on
the state legislative website: www.leginfo.legislature.ca.qgov. Archived Commonweal reports and
other information on legislation, budget and policy covering a range of youth justice issues can be
accessed on the Commonweal Juvenile Justice Program website: www.comijj.org.

Assembly bills

AB 61 (Bryan, D. — L.A.). Release of minor if probable cause determination not made within
48 hours. AB 61, as amended on 2/23, includes a new requirement that a minor who has been
taken into custody must be released within 48 hours if the minor has not received an initial judicial
determination of probable cause. The bill provides that the initial determination may be based on
sworn statements from the arresting officer, may be conducted in chambers or remotely by the
court, and need not be an adversarial proceeding. The bill provides that the determination may
also occur at the detention hearing described in Section 632 if that hearing occurs within 48 hours
after the arrest. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee for hearing March 7.

AB 268 (Weber, D. — San Diego). Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC). AB
268 would add two new members to the 13 member BSCC Board—including a licensed health
care provider and a licensed mental health care provider, both to be appointed by the Governor
and subject to Senate confirmation. In addition, the bill requires BSCC to adopt new minimum
standards for mental health care in local correctional facilities (i.e., jails) that meet or exceed the
standards for health services established by the National Commission on Correctional Health
Care. The bill includes specific requirements for the new standards, including that mental health
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screening at booking or intake must be done by a qualified mental health professional as defined
in the bill. As drafted the bill would not amend or augment BSCC standards for local juvenile
justice facilities. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee, hearing set for 2/28.

AB 327 (Jones-Sawyer, D. — L.A.). Department of Justice crime data—incident-based
reporting. The California Penal Code (Sections 13010, 13020) requires the state Dept. of Justice
to collect and publish crime data including crime reports to the federal government, and it further
requires listed state and local law enforcement agencies to report crime data to the state Dept. of
Justice in a form prescribed by the state Attorney General. This bill requires DOJ and local
reporting agencies to collect and report crime data using incident-based reports rather than
summary reports, in alignment with the federal National Incident Based Crime Reporting System.
The bill does not state a target date for conversion of the DOJ data system to incident-based
reporting but instead states a soft mandate for achieving completion of the state’s transition to
incident-based reporting. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee for hearing March 7.

AB 328 (Essayli, R. - Riverside). Dismissals of enhancements in criminal proceedings. AB
328 amends Penal Code Section 1385 which establishes a court process for dismissals of
sentence enhancement offenses based on multiple criteria, including that the person was a
juvenile when the offense triggering the enhancement occurred. This bill bars dismissals under
any of the listed criteria where the enhancement is based on an offense listed in Penal Code
Section 12022.53 (use of a firearm in the commission of a felony). To the Assembly Public
Safety Committee for hearing March 7.

AB 428 (Waldon, R. - Escondido). Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC).
Spot bill stating intent to enact unspecified legislation relating to BSCC. Not yet assigned.

AB 505 (Ting, D — San Francisco). Office of Youth & Community Restoration. Spot bill
making non-substantive amendments to WIC Sec. 2200 which states the mission and
responsibilities of the HHS Office of Youth and Community Restoration. Not yet assignhed.

AB 600 (Ting, D.- San Francisco). Resentencing procedure. AB 600 modifies the current
procedure outlined in Penal Code Section 1172.1 for the resentencing of persons committed to
state prison or county jail for the commission of a felony. Currently Section 1172.1 lists the trigger
events and criteria that can generate the resentencing process. Among these is a provision that
the court may on its own motion and within 120 days of commitment initiate the resentencing
process. This bill modifies the 120 day window by adding the court may also initiate recall
proceedings on its own motion “...at any time if the applicable sentencing laws at the time of
original sentencing are subsequently changed by new statutory authority or case law.”. In
addition the bill removes the current requirement that both the defendant and the district attorney
of the sentencing county must agree to any reduced term of imprisonment ordered by the court.
The bill does not apply to juvenile court proceedings but could impact the resentencing process as
applied to juveniles convicted in adult criminal courts. In the Assembly Public Safety
Committee for hearing on March 14.

AB 695 (Pacheco, D. - Downey). Juvenile Detention Facilities Improvement Grant Program.
AB 695 creates a new juvenile facility grant program to be administered by Board of State and
Community Corrections (BSCC). The bill states a “critical need for infrastructure improvements” to
ensure that the needs of adjudicated youth are addressed. The bill vests BSCC with broad
discretion to create the grant program “based on the priorities for infrastructure improvement” and
to meet “preliminary performance outcomes” as defined by the Board. The bill limits the grant
program to counties of the “first class” as defined in Govt. Code Section 28022. The only county
that qualifies as a county of the first class under that code section ([population exceeding 4
million) is Los Angeles. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee.
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AB 702 (Jackson, D. - Riverside). Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act (JJCPA). Spot bill
making nonsubstantive changes to Govt. Code Section 30061 which establishes and defines the
terms of the Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act (JJCPA) that supplies counties with annual
funds in excess of $150 million each year. JJCPA funds support local juvenile crime prevention
programs and strategies that are implemented according to a locally developed county juvenile
justice plan. Not yet assigned.

AB 808 (Mathis, R. - Porterville). Increased penalty for rape of child. AB 808 amends Penal
Code Section 264 to increase the penalties for rape of a minor where the minor is also a person
who lacks the ability to consent due to mental disorder or other disability. Not yet assigned.

AB 862 (Bauer-Kahan, D. — Orinda). Sheriff reports to BSCC on county jail programs and
recidivism rates. AB 862 requires each county sheriff by 1/1/25 to compile and submit data to
the Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC) on all education, rehabilitation and
exercise opportunities provided in each county jail, and on the overall recidivism rate for each
county jail. The measure of recidivism as defined in the bill is any new misdemeanor or felony
conviction or probation violation incurred by an individual within three years of release. BSCC is to
produce a report to the Legislature by 7/1/25 based on the data submitted. Juvenile justice
facilities are not referenced in this draft of the bill. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee.

AB 898 (Lackey- R. - Palmdale). Reports on injuries to juvenile hall staff. AB 898 requires
each juvenile probation department to file an annual report with the Board of State and
Community Corrections describing any and all injuries by a juvenile hall “resident” to the staff of
the facility, including the age of the resident, the injury sustained and whether the DA has filed
criminal charges against the resident. To the Assembly Public Safety Committee.

AB 912 (Jones-Sawyer, D. —L.A.). Five new youth justice grant programs. AB 912 creates the

following new state-level youth justice grant programs:

¢ Youth Reinvestment Grant Program. The existing Youth Reinvestment Grant Program at the
Board of State and Community Corrections is moved to the Office of Youth and Community
Restoration (OYCR). The bill appropriates $50 million to OYCR to administer a new round of
YRG grants.

e Mental health services grants. AB 912 directs the state Dept. of Education to award
competitive grants to K-12 school districts for the sole purpose of hiring social workers and
mental health professionals to improve youth health and well-being and community stability.
The bill appropriates $50 million to the Department for this grant program.

e Cognitive Behavioral Intervention for Trauma Pilot Program. The bill directs the Health and
Human Services Agency to administer a five county pilot program of grants to schools in
Alameda, Fresno, Kern, Merced, Tulare and Los Angeles counties, to implement the Cognitive
Behavioral Intervention for Trauma in Schools (CBITS) program with an appropriation of $50
million to HHS.

e Dept. of Justice Violence Prevention & Reduction grant program. AB 912 directs the state
Department of Justice to award competitive grants for defined outreach programs to reduce
gang involvement and gang violence and appropriates $50 million to DOJ for this purpose.

e Dept. of Parks and Recreation grants. AB 912 directs the Department of Parks and
Recreation to administer a program of grants to local governments and CBOs to support parks
and rec programs including sports and education programs to enhance recreation and health
based interventions for youth during peak times of violence; appropriates $50 million for this
Parks and Rec grant program.

To the Assembly Public Safety Committee.
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AB 945 (Reyes, D. — Colton). Community-based corrections spot bill. Spot bill making
nonsubstantive changes to Penal Code Section 17.5 which declares the intent of the Legislature to
support community-based “justice reinvestment” programs to reduce recidivism. Not yet assigned.

AB 1039 (Rodriguez, D. - Chino). Dismissals of enhancements in criminal proceedings, spot
bill. AB 1039 makes a nonsubstantive amendment to Penal Code Section 1385 which currently
establishes a process for the dismissal of enhancements under listed criteria including that the
defendant was a juvenile when having committed the offense or offenses triggering the sentencing
enhancement. Not yet assigned.

AB 1090 (Jones-Sawyer, D. —L.A.) Management of juvenile halls. Current law (WIC Sec 852)
provides that a county juvenile hall shall be under the control and management of the probation
officer. This bill would permit the Board of Supervisors of any county to determine by resolution of
the Board that the juvenile hall shall instead be under the management and control of an appointed
executive officer. The bill conforms other sections of the Welfare and Institutions Code to include
reference to management of the juvenile hall by an executive officer in lieu of management by the
probation department. Not yet assighed to committee.

AB 1118 (Kalra, D. — San Jose). Racial Justice Act spot bill. AB 1118 makes a nonsubstantive
change to Penal Code Section 745 commonly referred to as the Racial Justice Act which prohibits
discrimination in juvenile and criminal proceedings based on race and provides remedies for
prosecutions, convictions or adjudications involving racial bias or discrimination. Not yet assigned
to committee.

AB 1186 (Bonta, D. — Oakland). Elimination of juvenile justice restitution orders. Bonta’s bill
states intent to eliminate the court’s authority to impose financial restitution orders on juveniles,
citing the harm done to youth who cannot make payments as well as evidence of racial bias in the
current restitution system. AB 1186 would replace juvenile restitution orders with a mechanism to
compensate crime victims through payments from the California Victim’s Compensation Board in
satisfaction of the victim’'s court-ascertained economic losses. The new victim compensation
system is described succinctly in an amendment to WIC Section 730.6 stating that ‘it is the intent
of the legislature that no minor or the minor’s parent or guardian shall be ordered to pay restitution
to a victim that incurred economic loss as a result of the conduct of that minor. Upon issuance of a
restitution order from the juvenile court, victims shall receive restitution directly from the California
Victim Compensation Board”. AB 1186 makes sweeping changes to multiple code sections that
presently reference or authorize juvenile restitution orders imposed on youth or their families. In
that regard, WIC Sec 202 (the “purpose” section) and WIC Section 730 (ward dispositions) are
amended to explicitly remove the court’s authority to impose a restitution payment order, and to
instead authorize the court to order the minor to “make amends...by patrticipating in a restorative
justice program, performing community service, or participating in an educational, employment,
youth development, or mental health program.” The amendment to WIC Sec. 730 adds that ” All of
these nonmonetary accountability options shall be youth appropriate, limited to no more than 25
hours, not interfere with the minor’s school or work commitments, and provided at no cost to the
minor or their parent or guardian.” Multiple other WIC and Penal Code sections are amended or
repealed to enact a replacement system of juvenile justice accountability that eliminates monetary
payments by youth in favor of restorative justice alternatives and publicly funded payments to
victims. Other amendments revise program-related orders of the court--- for example, an
amendment to WIC Section 730 eliminates the requirement that a minor or parents must pay the
costs of a court-ordered sex offender treatment program. The bill retains the current code
provisions that allow a minor to dispute a prior restitution order. This bill is drafted at a high level of
detail, and those interested are advised to read the full text of bill for full appreciation of its proposed
changes. Not yet assigned to committee.
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AB 1226 (Haney, D. — San Francisco). State prison placements nearest home and home of
child. AB 1226 would repeal and replace Penal Code Section 5080 with updated provisions on
the placements of new prisoners in relation to their homes and families. The revised Section 5080
requires the state Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation to perform a more thorough
evaluation of each person newly committed to state prison, to ensure that the person is assigned
to the most appropriate state institution that is closest to the incarcerated person’s home. If the
newly committed person has a child under the age of 18, the bill also requires CDCR to place the
person in the institution that is “...located nearest to the primary place of residence of the person’s
child, provided that the placement is suitable and appropriate, would facilitate increased contact
between the person and their child, and the incarcerated parent gives their consent to the
placement.” If the person has more than one child under the age of 18, the Department must
make separate prisoner placement determinations in relation to each child. Not yet assigned.

AB 1506 (Quirk-Silva, D. — Fullerton). Minor’s rights upon referral to probation, spot bill.
AB 1507 makes nonsubstantive changes to WIC Section 627.5 which presently directs the
probation officer, upon referral of a minor, to advise the minor of his or her constitutional rights
including the right to counsel. Not yet assigned.

AB 1514 (Reyes, D. — Colton). Division of Juvenile Justice, spot bill. Makes a
nonsubstantive amendment to WIC Section 1000 which is the blanket statute changing alll
references to the California Youth Authority to refer instead the Division of Juvenile Facilities
(a.k.a. DJJ). Not yet assigned.

AB 1547 (McKinnor, D. — L.A.) Childhood sexual assault actions, statute of limitations,
juvenile facilities. California Code of Civil Procedure (CCP) Section 340.1 extends the statute
of limitations for filing an action for damages due to a childhood sexual assault to 22 years from
the date the plaintiff attains the age of majority or five years from when the damage was
discovered, whichever expires later. This bill would, for short extension periods, revive a
childhood sexual assault claim against an employee of a juvenile probation camp or detention
facility, or against an employee of the Division of Juvenile Justice, where that claim would
otherwise have been barred by the CCP 340.1 statute of limitations. Not yet assigned to
committee.

AB 1582 (Dixon, R. — Huntington Beach). Secure Youth Treatment Facilities. AB 1582
amends the eligibility and criteria for commitment of a juvenile to a Secure Youth Treatment
Facility (SYTF). The bill eliminates the provision at WIC Sec 875 (a) (2) that in order to qualify for
an SYTF commitment, the individual’s qualifying WIC 707 (b) offense must be the “most recent
offense for which the juvenile has been adjudicated”. In effect, this would allow a current SYTF
commitment for an older WIC 707 (b) offense that was previously handled without a commitment
to DJJ or to a Secure Youth Treatment Facility. Not yet assigned.

AB 1643 (Bauer-Kahan, D. — Orinda). Damage value threshold for probation referrals to
the DA and for informal supervision programs. Under current law, a minor referred to the
probation department for an offense for which victim restitution would exceed $1,000 must be
referred within 48 hours to the district attorney for a prosecutor decision whether to file formal
charges in the case (WIC. Sec. 653.5). In addition, under current law where the minor’s behavior
would trigger restitution exceeding $1,000, the minor becomes ineligible for referral to an informal
program of supervision by the probation officer (WIC Sec. 654) or by the court (WIC Sec. 654.2).
This bill raises the damage threshold for mandatory referral to the DA, or for referral to a program
of informal supervision, from $1,000 to $5,000. In other words, juveniles presently excluded from
probation-only processing and informal supervision programs, due to exceeding the $1,000
damage threshold, would have eligibility restored for those informal dispositions as long as the
restitution value does not exceed $5,000. Not yet assigned.
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Senate bills

SB 9 (Cortese, D — San Jose). Extending dependency jurisdiction to age 26. Current law
(WIC Section 303) provides that the juvenile court may retain jurisdiction over any person who is
found to be a ward or dependent child until the ward or dependent child attains 21 years of age.
SB 9 extends the courts dependency jurisdiction from age 21 to age 26, while retaining the cap of
age 21 for wardship (delinquency) jurisdiction. Intent language in the bill cites research
conducted by the Chapin Hill School of Social Work in Chicago indicating that outcomes for foster
using different measures (e.g., education, employment, avoidance of homelessness) are
improved during longer periods of court jurisdiction and access to foster care benefits. The bill
makes other changes regarding termination of jurisdiction for delinquent and dependent or
transitional jurisdiction wards to conform to the proposed extension of dependency jurisdiction to
age 26. To the Senate Human Services Committee for hearing March 20.

SB 46 (Roth, D. - Riverside). Mandatory drug education and treatment programs. Among its
other provisions, SB 46 amends Health & Safety Code Sec. 11373 which presently requires a
juvenile who is adjudicated for possession of a controlled substance to “receive education or
treatment” from a local community agency if the service is available and the person is likely to
benefit from the service. Current law also requires the juvenile court to order the minor’s parents
to participate in the program, to the extent the court determines that parental participation will aid
the education or treatment of the minor. SB 46 amends these provisions to instead require that a
minor who is found to possess any controlled substance must “complete successfully a controlled
substance education or treatment program” from a community agency designated by the court.
SB 46 retains the provision that the minor’s parents shall be ordered to participate in the program
to the extent the court determines that such participation will aid the education or treatment of the
minor. The bill eliminates the provision of current law that, in making the education and treatment
order, the court must also determine that “the person is likely to benefit from the service”. Other
parts of the bill apply similar program order provisions to adults convicted of drug possession
offenses, while spelling out the criteria for education and treatment programs elements covered
by the bill. To the Senate Public Safety Committee for hearing on March 14.

SB 266 (Newman, D. — Fullerton). California Gang, Crime and Violence Prevention program
spot bill. Spot bill making nonsubstantive changes to Penal Code Section 13825.1 which is the
first in a series of code provisions defining the program elements for this crime and violence
prevention program administered by the state Department of Justice. Not yet assigned.

SB 442 (Limon, D. — Santa Barbara). Sexual battery. SB 442 amends the sexual battery
statute (PC 243.4) to add to the existing elements of that crime the element of “causing another,
against that person’s will, to masturbate or touch an intimate part of either of those persons or a
third person.” To the Senate Public Safety Committee.

SB 448 (Becker, D. — Menlo Park). Juvenile detention criteria. SB 448 amends the criteria for
a court order that a minor be securely detained (at WIC Sections 635 and 636), by specifying that
a court’s decision to detain the minor “...shall not be based on the minor’s county of residence”.
To the Senate Public Safety Committee.

SB 519 (Atkins, D. — San Diego). Board of State and Community Corrections.

SB 519 amends Penal Code Sec. 6024 defining the mission of the Board of State and Community
Corrections (BSCC), by adding that the mission of BSCC includes “..to promote legal and safe
conditions for youth, inmates, and staff in local detention facilities. “ To the Senate Public Safety
Committee.



Commonweal - California Legislative Update — March 1, 2023 - page 7

SB 545 (Rubio, D. — Baldwin Park). Transfers of minors to adult criminal courts. SB 545
imposes a ban on the transfer of a juvenile to the jurisdiction of the criminal court, where the court
finds by clear and convincing evidence that the juvenile who is the subject of the transfer
proceeding has been trafficked, sexually abused or sexually battered by the alleged victim of the
transfer offense. If the court has already ordered the transfer, and the court then finds by clear
and convincing that the juvenile has been trafficked, sexually abused or sexually battered by the
alleged victim, the case must be remanded back to the juvenile court for further proceedings. To
the Senate Public Safety Committee.

SB 761 (Laird — Santa Cruz). Access to juvenile records in civil rights actions. Among its
other provisions, SB 761 amends WIC Sec. 827 on access to juvenile case files to permit the
state Dept. of Justice to access a juvenile case file “...to carry out investigations regarding civil
rights violations at the discretion of the Attorney General under Section 12535 of the Government
Code.” Not yet assighed to committee.

Bill digests by David Steinhart, Director of the Commonweal Juvenile Justice
Program. Copies of this report can be accessed on the Commonweal Juvenile Justice
Program website at: www.comjj.org
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