
      

 

 
 

JUVENILE JUSTICE BILLS  

 in the 2023 Session of the California Legislature 

 

April 26, 2023 

JUVENILE JUSTICE BILLS IN THE 2023 SESSION OF THE 
CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE  

This report covers bills tracked by Commonweal on the subjects of juvenile justice, youth crime 
prevention, probation foster care and related matters. Updates on bill amendments and committee 
status are current through Tuesday, April 25th.  This is the last week for policy committees to meet 
and pass measures on to fiscal committees by the deadline of April 28th. Floor votes where shown 
are in the order of “aye-no-not voting”. The full text of bills can be found on the state legislative 
website:  www.leginfo.legislature.ca.gov.  Archived Commonweal reports and other information on 
legislation, budget and policy covering a range of California youth justice issues can be accessed 
on the Commonweal Juvenile Justice Program website:  www.comjj.org. 

 
Assembly bills 
 
AB 61 (Bryan, D. – L.A.).  Release of minor if probable cause determination not made within 
48 hours.  AB 61 modifies the process for arrest and detention of juveniles by adding a 
requirement that a minor who has been taken into custody must be released within 48 hours if the 
minor has not received an initial judicial determination of probable cause. The new 48 hour rule 
does not include extensions for weekends or holidays—it’s a straight 48 hours. The bill provides 
that the initial determination of probable cause may be based on sworn statements from the 
arresting officer, may be conducted in chambers or remotely by the court, and need not be an 
adversarial proceeding. The bill also  provides that the determination may occur at the detention 
hearing described in Section 632 if that hearing occurs within 48 hours after arrest.  Other, major 
sections of the bill modify adult criminal procedure by requiring that a magistrate’s probable cause 
determination must be made within 48 hours of a warrantless arrest, inclusive of weekends and 
holidays, with related provisions on how the probable cause determination is to be made.  Passed 
the Assembly Public Safety Committee, to the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

 
AB 268 (Weber, D. – San Diego). Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC). AB 
268 would add two new members to the 13 member BSCC Board—including a licensed health 
care provider and a licensed mental health care provider, both to be appointed by the Governor 
and subject to Senate confirmation. In addition, the bill requires BSCC to adopt new minimum 
standards for mental health care in local correctional facilities (i.e., jails) that meet or exceed the 
standards for health services established by the National Commission on Correctional Health 
Care. The bill includes specific requirements for the new standards, including that mental health 
screening at booking or intake must be done by a qualified mental health professional as defined 
in the bill. As drafted, the bill would not amend or augment BSCC standards for local juvenile 
justice facilities.  Passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee, to the Assembly 
Appropriations Committee.  
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AB 327 (Jones-Sawyer, D. – L.A.). Department of Justice crime data—incident-based 
reporting. The California Penal Code (Sections 13010, 13020) requires the state Dept. of Justice 
to collect and publish crime data including crime reports to the federal government. It further 
requires listed state and local law enforcement agencies to report crime data to the state Dept. of 
Justice in a form prescribed by the state Attorney General. This bill requires DOJ and local 
reporting agencies to collect and report crime data using incident-based reports rather than 
summary reports, in alignment with the federal National Incident Based Crime Reporting System, 
with a deadline of January 1, 2025, for conversion to the new system. Passed the Assembly 
Public Safety Committee, on suspense in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

 
AB 328 (Essayli, R. -  Riverside). Dismissals of enhancements in criminal proceedings.  AB 
328 amends Penal Code Section 1385 which establishes a court process for dismissals of  
sentence enhancements based on multiple criteria, including that the person was a juvenile when 
the offense triggering the enhancement occurred. This bill bars dismissals under any of the listed 
criteria where the enhancement is based on an offense listed in Penal Code Section 12022.53 
(use of a firearm in the commission of a felony). Failed passage in the Assembly Public Safety 
Committee. 
 
AB 428 (Waldon, R. - Escondido).  New California Department of Reentry.   As amended AB 
428 would establish a new and independent California Department of Reentry. The mission of the 
new department is to provide “leadership, coordination and technical assistance to promote 
effective state and local efforts and partnerships with California’s adult and juvenile criminal 
justice system to ensure successful reentry services  are provided to incarcerated individuals 
preparing for release and within community supervision and parole”. Among the specific tasks for 
the new Department is that it shall “focus exclusively on reentry programs in state programs and 
juvenile justice facilities in coordination with the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to 
ensure successful restorative results”. The provisions of the bill remain somewhat vague on the 
role of the new Department in relation to youth realigned from the state Div. of Juvenile Justice to 
local control and on other juvenile justice system specifics. Passed the Assembly Public Safety 
Committee, to the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

 
AB 505 (Ting, D – San Francisco). Office of Youth & Community Restoration, Board of 
State & Community Corrections. As amended, AB 505 makes extensive changes in the 
mission, scope and authority of the HHS Office of Youth and Community Restoration (OYCR). 
The bill moves all current juvenile justice functions and operations of the Board of State and 
Community Corrections (BSCC) to OYCR as of July 1, 2025,  including local juvenile facility 
standards and inspections, juvenile justice grants and juvenile justice data collection. AB 505 is a 
complex and substantial re-write of California juvenile justice law that includes the following 
specific provisions: 

• Facility standards, inspections and enforcement.  The bill moves all Title 15 and 25 juvenile 
facility standards and inspections from BSCC to OYCR as of 7/1/25.  AB 505 empowers 
OYCR to then enforce its juvenile facility standards by imposing newly defined sanctions for 
violations including fines, civil penalties and orders of facility closure. In addition, the language 
of WIC Sec. 209 that now requires county judges to inspect juvenile halls is expanded to 
mandate that judges must inspect all county juvenile facilities including halls, SYTFs, 
camps/ranches and adult lockups used to detain minors. If  the judge finds violations, the local 
enforcement process (corrective action plans, determinations of unsuitability) would then 
apply to all those facility types. (These Sec. 209 judicial inspection changes would take effect 
on 1/1/24 if the bill is enacted this year).  Later, when OYCR assumes control of state 
minimum standards for juvenile facilities in 2025, the enforcement provisions would change 
again by adding the discretionary sanctions mentioned above (fines, closure) and by adding a 
new requirement that OYCR unsuitability determinations must be considered in public 
hearings with public input, and with the decision to be published within 10 days of the hearing. 
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• OYCR ombudsperson.  New authority is vested in the OYCR Ombudsperson including the 
right to inspect or visit any juvenile facility at any time (rather than on 48 hours notice under 
current law);  the right to interview youth and make audio or video recordings or photos of the 
visit; and the right to inspect and make copies of any and all juvenile facility records. The 
ombudsperson staff are mandated to conduct a site visit at every juvenile facility under the 
control of a local agency including those run by contract agencies, at least once per year. 

• Grants. Under AB 505 All current BSCC juvenile justice grants would move to OYCR as of 
7/1/25, including JJCPA and YOBG grant programs.  The bill moves the state planning 
agency (State Advisory Committee) for federal JJDPA grants from BSCC to OYCR as of 
7/1/25. AB 505 makes extensive revisions to the terms of the Juvenile Justice Realignment 
Block Grant (JJRBG)—the funding stream that provides state funds to counties as an integral 
feature of  2020 DJJ realignment (SB 823). These changes to the JJRBG would take effect in 
2024 if the bill passes this year (not deferred to 2025). They would include a new requirement 
that OYCR must approve each county JJRBG spending plan and must verify approval to the 
Controller before the Controller can release block grant funds to the county; that the local 
JJRBG planning group must meet twice per year (rather than once each 3 years) to produce 
annual plan updates;  that the plan must include review by community members of the local 
JJRBG subcommittee, with majority approval by subcommittee members;  and deletion of the 
current requirement that the JJRBG subcommittee be chaired by the chief probation officer.  

• Data.  All BSCC juvenile justice data collection tasks, including the Juvenile Detention Profile 
Survey, are moved to OYCR as of 7/1/25. 

• Case files.  WIC Section 827 is amended to provide for access to juvenile case files by OYCR 
personnel when carrying out their duties.  

Passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee, to the Assembly Appropriations 
Committee. 
 
AB 600 (Ting, D.- San Francisco). Resentencing procedure.  AB 600 modifies the current 
procedure outlined in Penal Code Section 1172.1 for the resentencing of persons committed  to 
state prison or county jail for the commission of a felony. Currently Section 1172.1 lists the trigger 
events and criteria that can generate the resentencing process. Among these is a provision that 
the court may on its own motion, and within 120 days of commitment, initiate the resentencing 
process. This bill modifies the 120 day window by adding the court may also initiate recall 
proceedings on its own motion  “…at any time if the applicable sentencing laws at the time of 
original sentencing are subsequently changed by new statutory authority or case law.” . In 
addition, the bill removes the current requirement that both the defendant and the district  attorney 
of the sentencing county must agree to any reduced term of imprisonment ordered by the court. 
The bill does not apply to juvenile court proceedings but could impact the resentencing process as 
applied to juveniles convicted in adult criminal courts. Passed the Assembly Public Safety 
Committee, in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

 
AB 695 (Pacheco, D. - Downey). Juvenile Detention Facilities Improvement Grant Program. 
AB 695 creates a new juvenile facility grant program to be administered by the Board of State and 
Community Corrections (BSCC). The bill states a “critical need for infrastructure improvements” to 
ensure that the needs of adjudicated youth are addressed. The bill vests BSCC with broad 
discretion to create the grant program “based on the priorities for infrastructure improvement”  and 
to meet “preliminary performance outcomes” as defined by the Board. The bill limits the grant 
program to counties of the “first class” as defined in Govt. Code Section 28022. The only county 
that qualifies as a county of the first class under that code section ([population exceeding 4 
million) is Los Angeles. Passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee with pending 
amendments, to the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 
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AB 702 (Jackson, D. - Riverside). Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act (JJCPA). AB 702 
would overhaul the planning and administration requirements for the state’s long-standing 
Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention (JJCPA). The JJCPA was enacted in the year 2000 as a 
progressive response by the Legislature to the punitive provisions of Proposition 21, the Juvenile 
Crime Initiative sponsored by then-Governor Pete Wilson. Since then, the JJCPA has provided 
counties with an average of $170 million per year statewide, plus annual adjustments,  to support 
local juvenile crime prevention and supervision programs described in plans submitted to the 
Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC) by local Juvenile Justice Coordinating 
Councils (JJCC’s).  AB 702  responds to criticism by youth advocacy organizations that JJCPA 
funds are spent predominantly on probation department operations rather than for community-
based youth services. AB 702 would require that 95 percent of each county’s JJCPA fund share 
must be allocated to community based organizations or public agencies that are not law 
enforcement agencies. County JJCPA spending plans are subject to new requirements as to the 
description and makeup of the target population to be served, and as to other elements including 
the requirement that the plan must provide for a continuum of care that is “..modeled on a 
framework of positive youth development and demonstrates a healing-centered, community-
based, collaborative and integrated approach for at-promise youth and youth involved in the 

juvenile court system.”  The makeup of the JJCC that produces each local plan is altered by 
amendments to WIC Sec. 749.22 that require  half of its members to be “community 
representatives” including “at promise” and “currently or formerly system-involved” individuals, 
with one of the community representatives serving as a JJCC co-chair. AB 702 is a reintroduction 
of similar measures that failed to make it out of legislative committees in 2020 and 2021.  In the 
Assembly Public Safety Committee, hearing on 4/25 cancelled by the author. 
 
AB 808 (Mathis, R. -  Porterville). Increased penalty for rape of developmentally disabled 
persons.   AB 808 amends Penal Code Section 264 to increase the penalties for rape of a person 
who is developmentally disabled, with longer prison terms where the victim is a disabled person 
under the age of 14. Failed passage in the Assembly Public Safety Com.  

 
AB 862 (Bauer-Kahan, D. – Orinda).  Sheriff reports to BSCC on county jail programs and 
recidivism rates.  AB 862 requires each county sheriff by 1/1/25 to compile and submit data to 
the Board of State and Community Corrections on all education, rehabilitation and exercise 
opportunities provided in each county jail, and on the overall recidivism rate for each county jail. 
The measure of recidivism in the bill is any new misdemeanor or felony conviction or probation 
violation incurred within three years of release. BSCC is to produce a report to the Legislature by 
7/1/25  based on the data submitted. Juvenile justice facilities are not referenced in the bill.   
Passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee, on suspense in  Assembly Appropriations. 

 
AB 898 (Lackey- R. - Palmdale). Reports on injuries to juvenile hall staff.  AB 898 requires 
each juvenile probation department to file an annual report with the Board of State and 
Community Corrections describing any and all injuries to the staff or residents of a juvenile hall 
the facility, including information on the ages of residents involved, the extent of injuries 
sustained, staffing ratios at the time of the incident, whether the incident occurred at a Secure 
Youth Treatment Facility, and whether the DA filed criminal charges.  Passed the Assembly 
Public Safety Committee, on suspense in the Assembly Appropriations Committee,  
 
AB 906 (Gipson, D. – L.A.). Alternative and juvenile court schools. AB 906 adjusts the local 
control school funding formula by increasing the base grant component of the alternative education 
grant and by revising the calculation of average daily attendance for the alternative education grant. 
The bill increases annual funding for local education agencies operating juvenile court schools (by 
$150,000) or community schools (by $300,000) juvenile court and schools. AB 906 also establishes 
a “necessary juvenile court school” allocation for the FY 23/24 fiscal year. In the Assembly 
Education Committee, hearing 4/26/23. 
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AB 912 (Jones-Sawyer, D. – L.A.). Strategic Anti-Violence Funding Efforts Act. AB 912 creates 
the following new state-level youth justice grant programs. Since its introduction it has been 
amended to adjust each of the grant programs established by the bill, with these current provisions:  

• Youth Reinvestment Grant Program.  The Youth Reinvestment Grant program located at the 
Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC) is moved to the Office of Youth and 
Community Restoration (OYCR). The bill appropriates $50 million to OYCR to administer a new 
round of YRG grants.  As renewed, the grant program is modeled closely on the last round of 
YRG grants awarded by BSCC in 2019, supporting “trauma-informed health and development”  
diversion programs, with 90% of funds allocated for nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations 
that are not law enforcement and 10% set aside for a Native American tribal grant component.  

• School based Health Center Support Program. AB 912 directs the state Dept. of Public 
Health to establish a School-based Health Center Support Program in coordination with the 
state Department of Education. Grants under the program would support technical assistance, 
and funding for the renovation and expansion of existing school-based health centers and the 
development of new ones. As amended, the bill sets out extensive requirements for the school-
based health center grants including eligibility criteria, health services to be provided, allocation 
levels, technical assistance, data collection and other program components. The bill 
appropriates $50 million to the Dept. of Public Health for the program. 

• CHHS Trauma Intervention Program.  This grant program replaces the “Cognitive Behavioral 
Intervention for Trauma Pilot Program” found in prior versions of the bill. As amended, the bill 
would establish a program within the Health and Human Services Agency to provide grants to 
local education agencies, including charter schools, to implement evidence-based interventions 
for pupils impacted by trauma. A research grant component is included to track how grant funds 
have been spent, with listed outcomes. Priority for grants is to be given to applicants located in 
the counties of Alameda, Fresno, Kern, Merced, Tulare and Los Angeles. The bill appropriates 
$50 million to HHS for this grant program. 

• Dept. of Justice Violence Reduction Grant program.  AB 912 directs the state Department 
of Justice to award competitive grants “,,,to support, expand, and replicate evidence-based, 
focused-deterrence collaborative programs that conduct outreach to targeted gangs and offer 
supportive services in order to preemptively reduce and eliminate violence and gang 
involvement’.  Grants made to “cities or other local jurisdictions” must allocate at least 50% of 
grant funds to community based agencies or to public agencies dedicated to community safety 
or violence prevention. The bill appropriates $35 million to DOJ for the grant program. 

• Dept. of Parks and Recreation grants. AB 912 directs the Department of Parks and 
Recreation to administer a program of grants to local governments, CBOs and schools to 
support sports and education programs to enhance recreation and health based interventions 
for youth impacted by gangs and violence, with a focus on programs operating during “peak 
times of violence”. The bill appropriates $50 million to the Dept. of Parks & Recreation. 

Passed the Assembly Public Safety and Education Committees, to the Assembly 
Appropriations Committee. 
 
AB 945 (Reyes, D. – Colton). Community-based corrections spot bill.  Gut & amend.  As 
amended the bill requires local courts to submit reports to the state Dept. of Justice on individuals 
petitioning to have their convictions dismissed after participating in a California Conservation Camp 
program or another listed camp or fire crew program. Not a juvenile justice bill; will be taken off our 
tracking list in future reports.  
 
AB 1039 (Rodriguez, D. - Chino).  Sex offenses by employees of public health, public 
detention and state corrections facilities.   As amended, AB 1039 amends Penal Code Sec. 
289.6 which presently establishes a misdemeanor for a public health or public detention facility 
officer or employee who engages in sexual activity with a consenting adult who is confined in the 
facility. PC 289.6 also covers employees in CDCR and CDCR contract facilities who engage in 
defined sexual acts with inmates, wards or parolees. Covered detention facilities include those 
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confining both adults and minors. The definition of sexual activity is expanded to include touching 
of the anus, groin or buttocks, and the penalty is increased from a misdemeanor to a wobbler. In 
the Assembly Public Safety Committee; hearing 4/18 cancelled by the author. 
 
AB 1090 (Jones-Sawyer, D.  – L.A.) Management of juvenile halls. Gut & amend. This bill has 
been gutted and amended into a completely different measure that establishes new procedures for 
removals of county sheriffs from office. No longer a juvenile justice bill; will be removed from our 
tracking reports.  

 
AB 1118 (Kalra, D. – San Jose). Racial Justice Act appeals. As amended, AB 1118 modifies the 
Racial Justice Act which prohibits discrimination in juvenile and criminal proceedings and provides 
remedies for prosecutions, convictions or adjudications involving racial bias or discrimination. AB 
1118 authorizes a defendant to raise a claim of racial discrimination in the trial record directly on 
appeal after conviction or sentencing. It further authorizes the defendant to move to stay the appeal 
and to request remand to the superior  court for the filing of a motion to vacate the sentence based 
on a discrimination claim. Passed the Assembly 65-0-15, to the Senate for committee 
assignment.  

 
AB 1186 (Bonta, D. – Oakland). Elimination of juvenile justice restitution orders. Bonta’s bill 
states intent to eliminate the court’s authority to impose financial restitution orders on juveniles, 
citing the harm done to youth who cannot make payments as well as evidence of racial bias in the 
current restitution system.  AB 1186 would replace juvenile restitution orders with a mechanism to 
compensate crime victims through the California Victim’s  Compensation Board, in satisfaction of  
court-ascertained economic losses. The new victim compensation system is described in an 
amendment to WIC Section 730.6 stating  “…it is the intent of the legislature that no minor or the 
minor’s parent or guardian shall be ordered to pay restitution to a victim that incurred economic loss 
as a result of the conduct of that minor. Upon issuance of a restitution order from the juvenile court, 
victims shall receive restitution directly from the California Victim Compensation Board”.   AB 1186 
makes multiple changes to code sections that presently reference or authorize juvenile restitution 
orders imposed on youth or their families. WIC Sec 202 (the “purpose” section) and WIC Section 
730 (ward dispositions) are amended to explicitly remove the court’s authority to impose a restitution 
payment order, and to instead authorize the court to order the minor to “make amends…by 
participating in a restorative justice program, performing community service, or participating in an 
educational, employment, youth development, or mental health program.”  The amendment to WIC 
Sec. 730 adds that ” All of these nonmonetary accountability options shall be youth appropriate, 
limited to no more than 25 hours, not interfere with the minor’s school or work commitments, and 
provided at no cost to the minor or their parent or guardian.”  Multiple other WIC and Penal Code 
sections are amended or repealed to enact a replacement system of juvenile accountability that 
eliminates monetary payments in favor of restorative justice alternatives and publicly funded 
payments to victims. Other amendments revise program-related orders of the court--- for example, 
an amendment to WIC Section 730 eliminates the requirement that a minor or parents must pay 
the costs of a court-ordered sex offender treatment program.  The bill retains current provisions 
allowing minors to dispute a prior restitution order. This bill is drafted at a high level of detail, and 
interested persons are advised to read the full text of the bill. Passed the Assembly Public Safety 
Committee, to Assembly Appropriations Committee, hearing set for 4/26.  
 
AB 1226 (Haney, D. – San Francisco).  State prison placements near home and child.  AB 
1226 would replace Penal Code Section 5080 with updated provisions on the placements of new 
prisoners in proximity to their homes and families. The revised Section 5080 requires the state 
Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation to perform a more thorough evaluation of each person 
newly committed to state prison, to ensure that the person is assigned to the most appropriate 
state institution that is closest to the incarcerated person’s home. If the newly committed person 
has a child under the age of 18, the bill also requires CDCR to place the person in the institution 
that is “…located nearest to the primary place of residence of the person’s child, provided that the 
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placement is suitable and appropriate, would facilitate increased contact between the person and 
their child, and the incarcerated parent gives their consent to the placement.”  If the person has 
more than one child under age18, the Department must make separate prisoner placement 
determinations in relation to each child.  As amended, the bill also authorizes CDCR to review an 
inmate request to be transferred to a different institution closer to his/her child and authorizes 
inmates to make such requests based on changes in the residence of their children. Passed the 
Assembly Public Safety Committee, in the Assembly Appropriations Com. for hearing 4/26.  

 
AB 1506 (Quirk-Silva, D. – Fullerton). Foster care bill of rights, school changes. AB 1506 
adds to the foster care bill of rights ((WIC Sec. 16001.9) which presently includes the right of a 
child to attend school, to remain in the school of origin, to immediate enrollment upon a change of 
school, to credits for completed coursework, to priority enrollment in listed school programs, and 
to receive all educational supports and benefits described in the Education Code.  AB 1506 adds 
that the child shall “… be provided with the opportunity to return to the child’s school with an adult 
of their choosing to accompany the child in a trauma-informed manner to collect their belongings 
when a move or change in placement requires the child to change schools,”  Passed Assembly 
Human Services Committee, on the Assembly Floor (non-fiscal bill).  
 
AB 1514 (Reyes, D. – Colton).  Division of Juvenile Justice, spot bill.  Gut & amend. This bill 
has been converted into a measure adjusting how case data is managed under CalWORKS and 
changing how  CalFRESH applications are processed through the CalSAWS automated welfare 
system. Not a juvenile justice bill; will be removed from further tracking reports.  
 
AB 1547 (McKinnor, D. – L.A.) Childhood sexual assault actions, statute of limitations. 
California Code of Civil Procedure (CCP) Section 340.1 extends the statute of limitations for filing 
an action for damages due to a childhood sexual assault to 22 years from the date the plaintiff 
attains age of majority or five years from when the damage was discovered, whichever comes 
later. This bill would, for short extension periods, revive a childhood sexual assault claim against 
an employee of a juvenile probation camp or detention facility, or against an employee of the 
Division of Juvenile Justice, where that claim would otherwise have been barred by the statute of 
limitations. Passed Assembly Judiciary Committee, to the Appropriations Committee. 

 
AB 1582 (Dixon, R. – Huntington Beach). Secure Youth Treatment Facilities.  AB 1582 
amends the eligibility and criteria for commitment of a juvenile to a Secure Youth Treatment 
Facility (SYTF). The bill eliminates the provision at WIC Sec. 875 (a) (2) that in order to qualify for 
an SYTF commitment, the individual’s qualifying WIC 707 (b) offense must be the “most recent 
offense for which the juvenile has been adjudicated”.  In effect, this would allow a current SYTF 
commitment for an older WIC 707 (b) offense that was previously handled without a commitment 
to DJJ or to a Secure Youth Treatment Facility. Failed passage in the Assembly Public Safety 
Committee on 4/11. 
 
AB 1643 (Bauer-Kahan, D. – Orinda).  Damage value threshold for probation referrals to the 
DA and for informal supervision programs.  Under current law, a minor referred to the 
probation department for an offense for which victim restitution exceeds $1,000 must be referred 
within 48 hours to the district attorney for a prosecutor decision whether to file formal charges in 
the case (WIC. Sec. 653.5). In addition, under current law where the minor’s behavior would 
trigger restitution exceeding $1,000, the minor becomes ineligible for referral to an informal 
program of supervision by the probation officer (WIC Sec. 654) or by the court (WIC Sec. 654.2). 
This bill raises the damage threshold for mandatory referral to the DA, or for referral to a program 
of informal supervision, from  $1,000 to $5,000. In other words, juveniles presently excluded from 
probation-only processing and informal supervision programs, due to exceeding the $1,000 
damage threshold, would have eligibility restored for those informal dispositions as long as the 
restitution value does not exceed $5,000. Passed the Assembly Public Safety Committee, in 
the Assembly Appropriations Committee for hearing 5/3. 
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Senate bills 
 
SB 9 (Cortese, D – San Jose). Extending dependency jurisdiction to age 22.  Current law 
(WIC Section 303) provides that the juvenile court may retain jurisdiction over any person who is 
found to be a ward or dependent child until the ward or dependent child attains 21 years of age. 

SB 9 extends the court’s non-minor dependency jurisdiction to age 22 “…if the nonminor 
dependent is experiencing homelessness or is at reasonable risk of homelessness if 

they are not under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court”.    Intent language in the bill cites 
research conducted by the Chapin Hill School of Social Work in Chicago indicating that outcomes 
for foster youth are improved during longer periods of court jurisdiction and access to benefits. 
The bill makes other changes as to the process for extension of jurisdiction beyond age 21 for 
youth meeting the homelessness criteria. The prior version of the bill that proposed extending 
dependency jurisdiction to age 26 was amended to the current version which authorizes extension 
of jurisdiction to age 22. Passed the Senate Human Services and Judiciary Committees, in 
the Senate Appropriations Committee for hearing 5/1. 

 
SB 46 (Roth, D. - Riverside). Elimination of mandatory drug education and treatment 
programs for minors. Health & Safety Code Sec. 11373 which presently requires a juvenile who 
is adjudicated for possession of a controlled substance to “receive education or treatment” from a 
local community agency if the service is available and the person is likely to benefit from the 
service. Current law also requires the juvenile court to order the minor’s parents to participate in 
the program,  to the extent the court determines that parental participation will aid the education or 
treatment of the minor. As introduced,  SB 46 adjusted the Sec. 11373  program requirements for 
completion of mandatory drug education programs by minors and their parents.  As now 
amended, the bill completely deletes all Sec.11373 requirements for minors or their parents to 
participate in drug education or treatment programs upon adjudication of the minor for possession 
of a controlled substance. The bill retains changes in drug education and treatment programs 
mandated for adults with drug possession offenses. Passed the Senate Public Safety 
Committee, on suspense in the Senate Appropriations Committee. 
 
SB 266 (Newman, D. – Fullerton). Public Safety Collaborative Fund.  As amended SB 266 
creates a state Public Safety Collaborative Fund and authorizes the Board of State and 
Community Corrections (BSCC) to make grants from the fund to “…regional public safety 
collaboratives established for violence prevention, intervention, and suppression activities.”  
Grants are to be used to support a range of violence reduction strategies and may include 
programs to address youth violence prevention and intervention in K-12 schools; programs 
promoting successful offender re-entry; and programs to address homeless outreach and 
intervention. Preference in funding goes to “existing collaboratives” specifically including but not 
limited to the North Orange County Public Safety Collaborative.  In the Senate Public Safety 

Committee for hearing 4/25. 
 
SB 442 (Limon, D. – Santa Barbara). Sexual battery.  SB 442 amends the sexual battery 
statute (PC 243.4) to add to the existing elements of that crime the  element of “causing another, 
against that person’s will, to masturbate or touch an intimate part of either of those persons or a 
third person.”  Passed the Senate Public Safety Committee, on suspense in the Senate 
Appropriations Committee. 

 
SB 448 (Becker, D. – Menlo Park). Juvenile detention criteria. SB 448 amends the criteria for 
a court order that a minor be securely detained (at WIC Sections 635 and 636), by specifying that 
a court’s decision to detain the minor “…shall not be based on the minor’s county of residence”.  
Passed Senate Public Safety and Appropriations Committees. On the Sente Floor.  
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SB 519 (Atkins, D. – San Diego). Local departments of corrections and rehabilitation. 
Existing law authorizes a county Board of Supervisors to establish a local department of 
corrections having jurisdiction over local detention facilities and personnel engaged in the 
punishment, care or treatment of incarcerated persons. The title of the local entity, if established, 
is changed to a “department of corrections and rehabilitation”. The bill augments provisions that 
transfer the sheriff’s responsibility for jail management to the new department. The bill additionally 
would open certain local detention facility and detention employee records to public inspection 
where a death is involved. Other local detention facility oversight provisions are included in the 
bill. Local detention facilities covered by the bill include those that hold both adults and minors but 
not those holding only minors The bill also amends the statutory mission statement for the Board 
of State and Community Corrections in Penal Code Section 6024 to add that BSCC mission 
includes “..to promote legal and safe conditions for youth, inmates, and staff in local detention 
facilities. “  Not yet assigned to committee.  
 
SB 545 (Rubio, D. – Baldwin Park). Transfers of minors to adult criminal courts.  SB 545 
imposes a ban on the transfer of a juvenile to the jurisdiction of the criminal court, where the court 
finds by clear and convincing evidence that the juvenile who is the subject of the transfer 
proceeding has been trafficked, sexually abused or sexually battered by the alleged victim of the 
transfer offense. If the court has already ordered the transfer,  and  the court then finds by clear 
and convincing that the juvenile has been trafficked, sexually abused or sexually battered by the 
alleged victim, the case must be remanded back to the juvenile court for further proceedings. 
Passed the Senate Public Safety and Appropriations Committees, to the Senate Floor. 
 
SB 761 (Laird – Santa Cruz).  Access to juvenile records in civil rights actions. Among its 
other provisions, SB 761 amends WIC Sec. 827 on access to juvenile case files to permit the 
state Dept. of Justice to access a juvenile case file “…to carry out investigations regarding civil 
rights violations at the discretion of the Attorney General under Section 12535 of the Government 
Code.”  In the Sen. Judiciary Committee for hearing 4/25.  
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