
      

 

 

JUVENILE JUSTICE AND  

RELATED YOUTH PROGRAM BILLS 

in the 2016 Session of the California Legislature 
 

 

October 3, 2016 – Bills signed and vetoed by the Governor 

This bulletin recaps 2016 bills that were passed by the Legislature and acted on by the Governor on 

the subjects of juvenile justice, youth crime and violence prevention, youth mental health, probation 

foster care and related matters.  The Legislature adjourned on August 31st  and the Governor had 

until October 1st to sign or veto bills.  This issue covers bills that were either signed into law or 

vetoed by the Governor. Bills signed into law are preceded by an asterisk (*).  Unless otherwise 

noted, approved bills go into effect January 1, 2017. The full text of bills can be accessed on the 

California legislative website at www.leginfo.ca .gov. Additional information on legislation, budget 

and policy in the broader youth justice field is available on the Commonweal Juvenile Justice 

Program website at www.comjj.org. 

 

Assembly bills  
 

* AB 1067 (Gipson, D. – Carson). Foster youth rights working group. The bill requires the state 

Department of Social Services to convene a working group to address issues related to the rights of 

foster youth “in order to educate foster youth, foster care providers and others”. The working group 

is charged with issuing recommendations to the Legislature by 1/1/18 on revised foster youth rights 

under state law, including how youth are informed of those rights. The working group includes 

representatives from Child Welfare Directors Association, Chief Probation Officers of California, 

County Behavioral Health Directors and representatives of foster youth, parents, caregivers and 

advocates.  Signed by the Governor, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 851. 

 

AB 1730 (Atkins, D. – San Diego).  Probation services for sexually exploited youth. Requires the 

Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC) to establish a pilot project in San Diego, Santa 

Clara, San Joaquin and Sacramento Counties to test a service model to improve outcomes for youth 

who are victims of commercial sexual exploitation.  Participating counties must elect to participate 

in the pilot and must designate either the probation department or the child welfare department as the 

lead agency. The bill describes a range of services that may be provided including: assessment of the 

youth’s condition, trauma-informed services, placement solutions, staff training and peer mentors.  

Requires participating counties to conduct an evaluation of program impact and effectiveness using a 

comparison-group approach. VETOED.  In his veto message the Governor states:  “This bill 

authorizes a pilot project in four counties to provide services for youth victims of commercial sex 

trafficking contingent upon an appropriation in the state budget. There are numerous federal, state 

and local efforts underway to combat commercial sexual exploitation of children.  In this year's 
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budget, the state provided $19 million to fund the development of trafficking prevention and 

intervention services. Establishing a new pilot program in this area should be considered in the 

budget process”. 

 

* AB 1808 (Wood, D. – Healdsburg). Minors mental health services—therapists. Under the 

provisions of Family Code Section 6924, a minor 12 years of age or older can consent, without 

parental consent, to mental health services from a listed mental health professional under limited 

circumstances—generally, where the treatment professional considers the minor to be mature 

enough to participate intelligently in the treatment and where, in the opinion of the treating 

professional, the minor presents a serious risk of harm to self or others or is an alleged victim of 

child abuse. This bill would add certain practitioners to the list of therapists authorized to serve 

minors under this Section, including a marriage and family therapist trainee; a registered 

psychologist, psychology assistant or psychology trainee; an associate clinical social worker; and a 

social work intern.  Trainees and interns must notify a supervisor within 24 hours of any counseling 

provided to a minor under this section. Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 292. 

  

* AB 1843 (Stone, D. – Santa Cruz). Limits on employer inquiries into juvenile offense history. 

AB 1843 amends the Labor Code by providing that an employer may not ask a job applicant about 

juvenile justice system history, including any juvenile justice arrest, prosecution, diversion or 

adjudication event.  The Labor Code presently provides that an employer may ask a job applicant 

about an adult conviction; this bill adds a definition of “conviction” (at Section 432.7) that 

specifically excludes juvenile justice processing or adjudication.  The bill expands the current 

Section 432.7 ban on transmittal of adult offense records by law enforcement and other authorized 

holders of the information, by disallowing transmittal of any juvenile delinquency information. The 

bill also amends subdivision (f) of Section 432.7 to limit inquiry into juvenile offense history by 

defined health facility employers such as hospitals. Presently a defined health facility employer can 

ask any job applicant, juvenile or adult, about any arrest for a listed sex offense (where the job 

involves contact with patients) or any listed drug offense (where the job involves access to drug 

supplies).  Without changing what those health sector employers can ask about adult arrests, the bill 

limits their inquiry into juvenile justice history to asking about an adjudication for a listed sex or 

drug offense (including misdemeanors) that occurred within the last five years.  Sponsored by the 

California Juvenile Court Judges Association. Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 686. 

 

* AB 1849 (Gipson, D. – Carson). Foster youth transitional plans and health coverage.  Under 

current law, the social worker or probation officer must prepare an independent living transition plan 

for minors or nonminor dependents transitioning out of foster care. This bill would require the social 

worker or probation officer preparing the plan to take steps to ensure that an eligible minor or 

nonminor dependent is enrolled in Med-Cal.  Additionally, upon termination of dependency 

jurisdiction over a nonminor (over18 years of age), the court is required under current law to verify 

that the nonminor has been provided with specified documents and services. This bill would 

additionally require the court to verify that the nonminor is provided with a Medi-Cal Benefits ID 

card and with written verification of enrollment in Medi-Cal. In addition the bill requires the court to 

verify that the nonminor has been provided with “continuing and uninterrupted enrollment in Medi-

Cal”.   Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 609. 
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* AB 1945 (Stone, D. – Santa Cruz).  Clean up amendments to juvenile record sealing provisions. 

AB 1945 further amends Section 786 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, added in 2014 to require 

the Juvenile Court to seal a juvenile offense record and to dismiss the charges if the juvenile has 

satisfactorily completed probation or a diversion program and meets other listed criteria.  The bill 

would permit a child welfare worker to access a record that has been sealed by the court under 

Section 786 for the limited purpose of determining an appropriate court ordered placement or service 

for the minor with related restrictions on dissemination of the information. The bill also clarifies the 

eligibility of a person for WIC Section 786 record sealing for completions of diversion or probation 

occurring at any time while the person is under continuing juvenile court jurisdiction.  Signed into 

law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 858. 

 

* AB 1997 (Stone, D. - Santa Cruz).  Continuum of Care Reform and group home placements. AB 

1997 is a lengthy clean-up and implementation bill for last year’s major Continuum of Care Reform 

(CCR) legislation, AB 403.  Among other provisions, AB 403 revamped the rate and licensing 

structure for group homes accepting child welfare and probation placements, replacing the multi-

tiered “rate classification level”  (RCL) service and payment model of group home care with a single 

“Short Term Residential Treatment Center”  (STRTC) placement category,  roughly equivalent to 

the former highest levels of care (RCL levels 13-14). Children formerly placed at lower levels of 

group home care, including probation youth, are generally redirected by the Continuum of Care 

Reform and AB 403 to family based foster care as augmented by new funding and training 

provisions to expand “resource family” capacity in California.  AB 1997 adds new provisions related 

to rates and licensing for STRTC’s and resource families.  The bill amends Section 727 of the 

Welfare and Institutions Code to modify the AB 403 provision that determination of an appropriate 

placement is the “sole responsibility” of the probation department, by striking the word “sole”.  The 

bill additionally amends WIC Section 727.1 to strengthen the criteria applied by courts to order a 

placement in an out-of-state residential care facilities, by stating the court “shall not” (instead of 

“may not”) order the out-of state placement until specific criteria are satisfied.  This 463 page bill 

makes numerous other changes and clarifications regarding implementation of AB 403.  Signed into 

law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 612. 

 

* AB 1998 (Campos, D. – San Jose).  Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act and Youthful 

Offender Block Grant reporting requirements; juvenile justice race and ethnicity data. This bill 

revises the plan and report requirements for the Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act (JJCPA) and 

Youthful Offender Block Grant (YOBG) programs. The bill now incorporates nearly all of the 

recommendations of the legislatively mandated Juvenile Justice Data Working Group (JJDWG) on 

revised plan and report requirements for these two state-local juvenile justice grant programs.  In the 

main, the changes would consolidate county plans and reports going to the Board of State and 

Community Corrections (BSCC) each year into single-format submissions, while revising 

performance outcome measures for the grants so that they are grounded in consistent and available 

juvenile justice data maintained by the Department of Justice. In addition, AB 1998 requires BSCC 

to develop recommendations on best practices and standardization for counties on how to 

disaggregate juvenile justice caseload and performance and outcome data by race and ethnicity.  

Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 880. 

 

AB 2005 (Ridley-Thomas, D.- L.A.) Out of state placements of juveniles.  AB 2005 would require 

the juvenile court, prior to ordering the placement of a WIC 601 or 602 ward in an out-of-state 

residential facility or program, to find by clear and convincing evidence that the out-of-state 

placement “... is the most appropriate and is in the best interests of the minor and that in-state 
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facilities or programs have been considered and are unavailable or inadequate to meet the best 

interests of the minor”.  The bill maintains the current provision of WIC 727.1 that the court must 

verify that an out-of-state residential placement program for a California ward meets California 

licensing standards.  VETOED. In his veto message the Governor states: “The Court’s order… must 

already show that in-state options have been exhausted or are not in the best interest of the child. 

Last year I signed the Continuum of Care Reform Initiative into law. These reforms will drastically 

overhaul our system of housing youth under state care for the better, prioritizing in-home and 

smaller group placements wherever possible. Let's give this landmark effort some time to work 

before we pursue additional changes.” 

 

* AB 2298 (Weber, D. – San Diego). Gang data base notices, challenges and reports.  Current law 

requires a law enforcement agency to provide advance notice to the parent or guardian of a minor 

whose name is designated for entry into a defined gang data based, to include the basis for including 

the minor in the gang data based. This bill extends the same notice requirement to adults whose 

names are designated for inclusion in the gang data base. It also requires the notice to include a 

description of the process for contesting inclusion of the person’s name in the gang data base, while 

adding a new process permitting court review of a law enforcement agency’s decision to deny a 

person’s contest against inclusion of his or her name in the gang data base. August amendments have 

removed the bill’s former requirement that an individual be removed from the shared gang data base 

if he or she is not convicted of a listed gang-related offense within three years. Commencing in 

2018, the bill requires any law enforcement agency utilizing a shared gang data base to submit a 

report annually to the California Department of Justice describing additions and removals from the 

data base, including the number of removal requests, and the bill further requires the Department of 

Justice to post each law enforcement agency’s report on the DOJ internet website.  Signed into law, 

Stats. of 2016, Chapter 752. 

 

* AB 2524 (Irwin, D. – Thousand Oaks).  Department of Justice crime data—conversion to 

electronic formats and posting of crime data on the DOJ OpenJustice website. This Department of 

Justice (DOJ) sponsored bill would implement new and modern methodology and formats for the 

collection and reporting of crime data in California. Overall, the bill would provide for transitioning 

DOJ’s current process and formats for the production and reporting of crime data to fully electronic 

formats.  Intent language in the bill notes that only 40% of law enforcement agencies currently 

submit required data by electronic means, and that “there are significant public benefits in 

modernizing how public agencies engage with data and in encouraging the adoption of 

contemporary electronic technologies to reduce the inefficiencies and environmental impacts of 

paper recordkeeping.” The bill requires the Department to make available, though its “OpenJustice” 

website, information relating to criminal statistics to be updated at least once per year. Penal Code 

Section 13010.5, pertaining to the collection of juvenile justice data, is amended to require the 

department to publish juvenile justice data on its OpenJustice website. The bill also states intent for 

the Department to convert from summary crime reports to incident-based crime reports, and for the 

Department to convert fully to electronic data collection and reporting at a future date when 

incident-based reporting is fully implemented.  Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 418. 

  

* AB 2813 (Bloom, D. -  Santa Monica). Detention of dependent minors upon referral to 

probation. Amends Welfare and Institutions Code Section 628, with respect to the detention criteria 

to be utilized by the probation officer upon referral of a minor who is a dependent ward or who is the 

subject of a petition for dependency under Section 300.  As amended, the bill now deletes the 

probation officer’s authority to detain a minor based on based on dependency and neglect factors 

such as “the minor is destitute” or lacks a suitable home or parent or is the object of abuse, cruelty or 
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neglect (by deleting factors A through C in subdivision (a) (1) of Section 628).  For current 

dependent wards or minors who are subject to a dependency wardship petition and who have been 

removed from the home, the bill requires that the minor be immediately released to the custody of 

the child welfare agency or foster parent or caregiver unless the minor meets the remaining criteria 

for secure detention in subdivision (a) (1)—i.e. that the minor must be detained as a matter of 

immediate and urgent necessity to protect the person or property of another or is likely to flee the 

jurisdiction of the court or has violated an order of the juvenile court. Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, 

Chapter 646. 

   

Senate bills  
 
* SB 527 (Liu, D. - Pasadena).  Proposition 47 - Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Grant 

Program.  As amended, establishes the Learning Communities for School Success Program to 

control the process for allocation of the Department of Education share of Proposition 47 funds. 

Proposition 47 created a Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund from savings due to reduced prison 

costs derived from reducing listed felony crimes to misdemeanors.  25 percent of the state fund is to 

be allocated by the State Department of Education to support truancy, dropout prevention and related 

school-based programs.  SB 527 sets out criteria for allocation of the Prop 47 education share in the 

form of grants to local education agencies. The bill requires the Dept. of Education to consult with a 

range of education stakeholders on the design and structure of the grants. Requires that grant funds 

be used to support “evidence-based, nonpunitive programs and practices to keep the state’s most 

vulnerable pupils in school, consistent with the local educational agency’s goals for the pupil 

engagement and school climate state priorities as identified in its local control and accountability 

plan”.  Establishes funding priorities for local education agencies in communities having high crime 

rates, high rates of pupil suspension or absenteeism (including dropouts) or high rates of foster 

youth.  Requires a 20% local match for grant awards. Requires the Department of Education to 

provide training and technical assistance go agencies receiving planning grants, and requires the 

department to compile information from grantees into a preliminary evaluation report to the 

Legislature due by January 31, 2019 with a final report due by January 31, 2020.  Signed into law, 

Stats. of 2016, Chapter 527. 

 

*  SB 823 (Block, D. – San Diego). Sealing of offense records in human trafficking cases.  SB 823 

establishes a new petition procedure in the Penal Code (adding Section 236.14) whereby juveniles or 

adults who are arrested or convicted (including juvenile adjudications) for any nonviolent offense 

(including prostitution) while a victim of human trafficking may petition the court for relief that 

includes sealing of the arrest and court records, dismissal of the plea or indictment and notification 

to the Department of Justice that the dismissal and sealing have been ordered in the case.  As 

amended in June, the bill sets out additional criteria for gaining the relief provided, including that the 

petitioner must establish by clear and convincing evidence that the arrest or conviction was a direct 

result of being a victim of human trafficking. Separate provisions apply to juveniles who are arrested 

or adjudicated for a criminal offense while a victim of human trafficking, including a presumption 

that the juvenile is entitled to the relief provided in the bill once he or she establishes that the arrest 

or prosecution was the direct result of being a victim of human trafficking. The bill provides that  

Provides further that  “…a petitioner who has obtained an order pursuant to this section may 

lawfully deny or refuse to acknowledge an arrest, conviction, or adjudication that is set aside 

pursuant to the order.”  Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 823. 
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* SB 882 (Hertzberg, D. – L.A.) Public transport fare evasion by a minor. Amends Section 640 of 

the Penal Code to exempt minors from prosecution for an infraction or misdemeanor for the offense 

of evading a public transportation fare.  Amended on 5/31 to provide that the measure will not limit 

the ability of the public transportation agency to impose fines as specified for fare evasion.  Signed 

into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 167. 

 

* SB 1004 (Hill, D. – San Mateo).  Juvenile hall confinement pilot program for young adults. 

Authorizes a deferred entry of judgment pilot program in five counties, whereby adult defendants 

aged 18-21 at the time of their offense may be confined in a juvenile hall diversion and deferred-

entry-of-judgment program. Admission to the program is limited to those with non-violent/ non-

serious felony offenses as defined in the bill, and to those considered suitable for the program based 

on a probation-based risk assessment tool. The measure is intended to apply only to defendants “who 

would otherwise serve time in custody in a county jail”. The bill requires that adult defendants 

housed in juvenile halls “shall not come into contact with minors within the juvenile hall for any 

purpose including but not limited to housing, recreation or education”.  As amended, the bill further 

requires that each pilot county facility be reviewed and approved by the Board of State and 

Community Corrections as suitable for the mixed age population, taking into account factors 

including safety, programming and capacity of each facility.  The bill also requires the pilot counties 

to work with the Board of State and Community Corrections to ensure compliance with federal 

JJDPA sight and sound requirements for juveniles and adults housed in the same facility. 

Amendments taken in both Senate and Assembly policy committees impose evaluation requirements 

for the county pilots, including a mandate for the Board of State and Community Corrections to 

evaluate each pilot’s impact and effectiveness using a comparison-group approach, with the 

outcomes to be submitted in comprehensive reports to the Senate and Assembly Committees on 

Public Safety. Another amendment imposes a maximum custody time for adults in the juvenile hall 

program of one year. The five named pilot counties are Alameda, Santa Clara, Butte, Napa and 

Nevada.    Sponsored by the Chief Probation Officers of California (CPOC), the bill is designed in 

part to utilize available local juvenile hall space as an alternative to the confinement of young adults 

in crowded local jails. Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 865.  The Governor added a signing 

message stating that: “While this bill represents an innovative approach to addressing low-level 

youthful offenders, there are also other avenues worth exploring. While this is a promising start, I 

encourage the Legislature to look beyond deferred entry of judgment and explore options such as 

non-custody based diversion where appropriate.” 

  

SB 1052 (Lara, D. – Bell Gardens).  Custodial interrogation of juveniles. Adds a new Section 

625.6 to the Welfare and Institutions Code, requiring that a minor must consult with counsel prior to 

any custodial interrogation or waiver of Miranda rights. Provides that the pre-interrogation counsel 

consultation cannot be waived by the minor.  As amended, provides that the consultation with 

counsel may occur in person, by telephone or by video conference.  Amendments have also removed 

the list of criteria that a court must consider in determining the admissibility of evidence obtained 

prior to or without consultation with counsel.  The amendments simplify the bill on this point by 

now requiring more generally that the court shall, in determining the admissibility of evidence, 

consider the effect of failure to comply with the counsel consultation requirement.  Additional 

amendments carve out an exemption that makes the new protections inapplicable (and the statements 

admissible) where an officer questioning a minor reasonably believes that the information sought is 

“necessary to protect life or property from a substantial threat”.  VETOED.  In a lengthy veto 

message the Governor summarized conflicting views of the bill with regard to the vulnerability of 

juveniles on the one hand and the need to provide law enforcement with information needed to solve 

crime on the other.  He went on to state:” These competing realities raise difficult and troubling 
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issues and that is why I have consulted widely to gain a better understanding of what is at stake. I 

have spoken to juvenile judges, police investigators, public defenders, prosecutors and the 

proponents of this bill. I have also read several research studies cited by the proponents and the 

most recent cases dealing with juvenile confessions. After carefully considering all the above, I am 

not prepared to put into law SB 1052's categorical requirement that juveniles consult an attorney 

before waiving their Miranda rights. Frankly, we need a much fuller understanding of the 

ramifications of this measure. In the coming year, I will work with proponents, law enforcement and 

other interested parties to fashion reforms that protect public safety and constitutional rights. There 

is much to be done.” 

 

* SB 1084 (Hancock, D. – Berkeley). Juvenile life-without-parole (LWOP) cleanup, prison 

sentences. Modifies prior legislation providing for s introduced makes technical changes to code 

sections that provide a process for recall and resentencing of state prisoners with LWOP sentences 

for crimes committed while a juvenile.  As amended in August, delays until 2022 the mandatory 

implementation date for new sentencing law that requires a court to impose the middle prison term 

of incarceration for covered felony crimes, absent circumstances in mitigation or aggravation, and 

until that year, maintains the present discretion of the court to impose an appropriate term in the best 

interest of justice.  Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 867. 

  

SB 1110 (Hancock, D. – Berkeley). Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion program. Requires the 

Board of State and Community Corrections (BSCC) to award competitive grants to up to three 

jurisdictions for participation in a Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion (LEAD) pilot program. 

Under the program, designated law enforcement officers would be authorized, in lieu of arrest, to 

divert a person suspected of a listed drug or prostitution offense to a local service agency offering 

drug treatment or related counseling services. As amended the bill sets out extensive criteria for the 

award of grants, including the need to establish collaborative partnerships between the justice and 

service agencies in participating jurisdictions.  The bill now also includes detailed descriptions of the 

target service populations and the behaviors that qualify them for program intervention. It also now 

requires BSCC to contract with a nonprofit research entity, university or college to evaluate the 

effectiveness of the LEAD program, including specific outcome measures, with a report to the 

legislature and Governor to be submitted by January of 2020.  In the Assembly Appropriations 

Committee.  NOTE: This bill has been superseded by budget trailer legislation that incorporates the 

provisions of SB 1110 linked to an appropriation of $15 million in state General Funds to BSCC to 

support thee program. 

 

* SB 1143 (Leno, D.- S.F.). Juvenile detention room confinement.   This bill is a refurbished 

version of prior bills seeking to establish limits on the solitary or “room” confinement of juveniles in 

state or local juvenile justice facilities.  SB 1143 avoids the expression “solitary confinement”, 

instead setting out new conditions and limits on “room confinement”,  which is defined as placement 

of a minor or ward in a locked sleeping room or cell with limited or no contact with persons other 

than facility staff and attorneys.  The bill provides that room confinement shall not be used before 

less restrictive options have been exhausted (unless attempting those options poses a threat to safety 

or security); shall not be used for purposes of punishment, coercion, convenience or retaliation by 

staff; and shall not be used to the extent it compromises the mental or physical  health of the minor. 

The bill further requires that a minor may be held for up to four hours in room confinement, after 

which the staff must either return the ward to the general population, consult with medical or mental 

health staff and/or develop a plan to reintegrate the minor with the general population.  If room 

confinement is extended beyond four hours, the staff must document the reasons for its continuation, 

develop a plan to reintegrate the minor with the general population and obtain the written approval 
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of the facility director every four hours for continued room confinement. Facilities covered by the 

bill include juvenile halls, probation camps and ranches, the state Division of Juvenile Justice, a 

regional youth education facility or youth correctional center, and “any other local or state facility 

used for the confinement of minors or wards”.   Amendments state that the room confinement limits 

do not apply during emergencies including natural disasters or facility-wide threats posing imminent 

and substantial risk of harm, or when the minor is confined with physician approval to treat or 

prevent the spread of communicable disease or for extended medical treatment.   Signed into law, 

Stats. of 2016, Chapter 726. 

  

SB 1157 (Mitchell, D. – L.A.). Video and in-person visitation in local detention facilities.  This 

controversial and much-amended measure was amended in August to modify its approach to 

ensuring that local detention facilities do not substitute video-only visitation for in-person visitation. 

As amended the bill now provides that where a local detention facility elects to use video or other 

types of electronic devices for inmate visits, the facility must also provide in-person visits that meet 

or surpass the minimum number of visits required under regulations adopted by the Board of State 

and Community Corrections (BSCC).  The prior version of the bill specified minimum in-person 

visits that were required by each type of facility; this amended version defers to BSCC regulations to 

specify or modify the minimum number of in-person visits that are required in tandem with video or 

electronic device visits. Covered local detention facilities now include jails and lockups used to 

confine adults but no longer include juvenile justice facilities. Facilities operated by the state 

Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation are also excluded from the bill’s provisions. 

Moreover, as amended, a covered local detention facility that “does not have existing space available 

for in-person visitation” has until January 1, 2022 to comply.  VETOED. In his veto message the 

Governor states: “This bill as drafted does not provide adequate flexibility and creates a strict 

mandate.  Nevertheless, I am concerned about the recent trend of making jail facilities unavailable 

for in-person visits. The practice could have an adverse impact on achieving rehabilitative goals and 

might affect in a negative way the families and loved ones of those incarcerated.  I am directing the 

Board of State and Community Corrections to work with stakeholders to explore ways to address 

these issues.” 

  

* SB 1174 (McGuire, D. -  Healdsburg).  Psychotropic medication administered to children. 

Requires the state Department of Health Care Services and the State Department of Social Services 

to provide the Medical Board of California with specified information on the administration of 

psychotropic medications to children in foster care.  The data provided to the Medical Board must 

include data on all foster children who have been on three or more psychotropic medications for 90 

days or longer. The bill requires the Medical Board to review the data quarterly to determine 

violations or excessive prescribing of psychotropic medications inconsistent with applicable 

standards of care and to take disciplinary action as specified. Makes other changes in data collection, 

dissemination and physician monitoring related to the administration of psychotropic medications to 

children in foster care.  Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 840. 

 

* SB 1291 (Beall, D. – San Jose).  Medi-Cal mental health plans for children under juvenile court 

jurisdiction. As amended, requires annual reviews of county mental health plans to be conducted by 

an external quality review organization, to include documentation of services delivered to minors 

and non-minor dependents in foster care. Lists the factors and data to be included in the external 

review including, for example, the number of children served, the types of services provided and 

medication monitoring data.  If the external review discloses deficiencies in the ability of the mental 

health plan to serve foster children, the bill requires notice to the mental health plan and submission 

of a corrective action plan to the Department of Health Care Services.  SB 1291 includes other 
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detailed provisions related to mental health plan reviews, data collection and oversight of services 

provided to foster youth under county mental health plans. Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 

844. 

 

* SB 1322 (Mitchell, D. – L.A.) Exemption of minors from prosecution for prostitution offenses. 

Amends Penal Code Sections 647 (b) (prostitution) and 653.22 (loitering for purposes of 

prostitution) to exempt from prosecution a child under the age of 18 who is alleged to have violated 

this subdivision. Provides that a commercially exploited child engaged in one of the covered 

prostitution-related activities may be adjudged a dependent ward of the court and may be taken into 

temporary custody as otherwise provided in the Juvenile Court law.  As amended in August, also 

modifies the definitions of misdemeanor solicitation of prostitution contained in Penal Code Section 

647 and includes chaptering amendments to make the bill’s enactment contingent upon enactment 

outcomes of four other, related bills.  Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 654. 

  
* SB 1343 (Wolk, D. -  Davis). School transfers of pupils with specified convictions.  Provides that 

a school district may transfer a pupil within the district who has been convicted of a violent felony 

listed in Section 667 (c) of the Penal Code or of a misdemeanor violation of Section 29805 of the 

Penal Code (firearm purchase or possession by former offender), if the pupil to be transferred and 

the victim of the crime for which the pupil was convicted are enrolled in the same school.  As 

amended, requires as a condition of making any such a transfer that the school board has first 

adopted a policy that provides for attempts to resolve conflicts prior to such transfer, for parents to 

be able to meet with school officials prior to transfer and for a process to review the transfer if made. 

Signed into law, Stats. of 2016, Chapter 154. 

 

Bill digests by David Steinhart, Director, Commonweal Juvenile Justice Program. Updated reports 

are posted on our website at www.comjj.org. 
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